54 Fairmount Avenue, Chatham, NJ 07928     
973-635-0674       Hours: 8am to 4pm M-F     

Boards & Commissions
Board of Health
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Library of the Chathams Board of Trustees
Planning Board
Shade Tree Commission
Zoning Board of Adjustment
Advisory Committees

Planning Board

Who We Are

The membership is made up of the Mayor, one member of the Borough Council, one member of the Environmental Commission, a Municipal Official, and six local residents, plus up to two alternates. Most of the members are Mayor-appointed volunteers approved by the Borough Council, who serve for a three-year renewable term.

The Board meets on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 PM in Borough Hall. Meetings are open to the public.  

Planning Board Zoom Webinar  Aug 19, 2020 07:30 PM 

Please click the link to join the webinar:  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82970891005

Or iPhone one-tap:   US: +19292056099,,82970891005#  or +13017158592,,82970891005#

Or Telephone:  Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

US: +1 929 205 6099  or +1 301 715 8592  or +1 312 626 6799  or +1 669 900 6833  or +1 253 215 8782  or +1 346 248 7799

Webinar ID: 829 7089 1005

International numbers available: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kcLdNjRG5Q


What We Do

The New Jersey Municipal Land Use Law (MLUL) states that a planning board may “exercise its powers” in regard to:

  • The town’s Master Plan
  • Subdivision control and site plan review
  • The Zoning ordinance
  • Appeals for variance (along with the Board of Adjustment)
  • Environmental considerations

The MLUL permits boards to adopt and maintain a Master Plan unique to each community. Our Master Plan reflects the town’s physical character in basic stated objectives with respect to its land use, zoning and housing, historic preservation, recreation and conservation. To achieve these broad objectives, the Board writes and updates regulations for the Borough Council to adopt or amend. These regulations make up the town’s Land Development Regulations, also referred to as the Land Development Ordinance (LDO).

Since no regulation can be applicable to all situations, an appeal process is in place wherein the landowner may make their case to the appropriate board for variance relief. The Planning Board stays aware of environmental concerns through its members who serve on the Environmental Commission and the Open Space Advisory Committee.

The overall objective of planning and zoning is to maintain a reasonable balance between the particular needs and intentions of the property owner and the general welfare and character of the community.

The Planning Board is responsible for: 

  1. Holding hearings and deciding upon land subdivisions and certain site plan applications.
  2. Reviewing and updating the Land Development Regulations.
  3. Coordination with the Board of Adjustment, the Construction Department and other Borough agencies.
  4. Maintaining and regularly updating the Master Plan.
  5. Reviewing and updating the Borough zoning map from time to time.
  6. Reviewing State Development Plans and participating in the Cross-Acceptance process.
  7. Developing plans to assure compliance with the State Affordable Housing Laws and Council on Affordable Housing (COAH) decisions.
  8. Training Board members through attendance at seminars.

Planning Board Members

The mayor appoints all Members to the Planning Board.  Six (6) Class IV Members serve a 4-year term and two (2) Alternate Members serve a 2-year term.  

Class I - Mayor
Thaddeus J. Kobylarz
Class II - Borough Employee
Stephen W. Williams
Class III - Council Member
Irene Treloar 01/01/2020-12/31-2020
Class IV - Zoning Board of Adjustment Member
H. H. Montague
Class IV – Vice Chair
Matthew Wagner
Class IV
Curt Dawson
Class IV - Chair
Susan W. Favate
Class IV
William Heap
Class IV - Environmental Commission Member
Torri Van Wie
Note: Term is for 3 years or
shall terminate at completion
of the term served on the
Environmental Commission, whatever
occurs first [Borough Code §165-156B.] 
1st Alternate
Joseph Mikulewicz
2nd Alternate
Gregory Xikes
Planning Board Attorney Vincent Loughlin Professional Service Appointment
Minutes Secretary Liz Holler  
Administrative Secretary Frances Boardman  
Planning Board Engineer Vince DeNave  
Planner Kendra Lelie, PP, AICP, ASLA Professional Service Appointment
Consulting Engineer Robert C. Brightly, PE Professional Service Appointment

Frances Boardman is the Borough of Chatham Land Use Administrative Officer. She may be reached at fboardman@chathamborough.org .