54 Fairmount Avenue, Chatham, NJ 07928     
973-635-0674       Hours: 8am to 4pm M-F     

 
Government
Animal Licensing
Borough Directory
Mayor & Council
Administrator
Animal Control
Borough Clerk
Community Services
Construction & Land Use
Emergency Management
Engineering - Zoning
Finance
Fire Department
Fire Safety
Health
Madison - Chatham Joint Meeting
Municipal Court
Police
Chatham Borough Public Works
Recreation
Registrar
Revaluation 2021
Senior Services
Tax Office
Utilities
Organizational Chart (pdf)

Construction & Land Use

May 14, 2020: Madison Building Dept., serving Madison and Chatham Borough, have implemented new  policies and procedures in regards to permit payments and pick-ups.

The Hartley Dodge Memorial Building, 2nd floor, 50 Kings Road, Madison, NJ  

CONSTRUCTION PERMITS

The Madison Building Department handles the processing & issuance of building and construction permits for Chatham Borough property owners and their contractors and schedules all subcode inspections.

Chatham Township property owners should contact the Chatham Township Construction Office at 973-635-3202.

As of May 1, 2021 Chatham Borough has implemented a new permit process.  All zoning applications including fence, shed, deck, generator, decks, HVAC, and additions will come directly to Chatham Borough along with a check for that application made out to Chatham Borough.

Once the permit is approved it may be emailed to you or you may pick it up at Borough Hall.  If you have a permit packet including construction permits which need to then go to Madison, you will be notified when your permits are ready to be brought over to Madison.

mpoliti@chathamborough.org

 

CHATHAM BOROUGH property owners can check the status of their construction permits 24/7 on the Construction Permit Portal. [First-time users must register and create an account]


ZONING AND LAND USE MATTERS

Inquiries concerning zoning and land disturbance matters, including reviews for signage, fences, driveways, patios and sheds, building height, lot coverage, building setbacks & bulk requirements and for zoning permits, are handled by the Chatham Borough Engineer's office. Please contact Vince DeNave at 973-635-0674 x270 or email vdenave@chathamborough.org

CERTIFICATES OF CONTINUED OCCUPANCY

Inquires concerning applications and issuance of permits for Certificates of Continued Occupancy (CCO) are handled by the Chatham Borough Clerk's Office. 

Please contact Liz Holler at 973-635-0674 x 204 or email  lholler@chathamborough.org  or ecampo@chathamborough.org .

 

 

MADISON BUILDING DEPARTMENT

The Hartley Dodge Memorial Building, 2nd floor, 50 Kings Road, Madison, NJ  

Office hours are Monday-Friday 7:30am to 4:00pm
973-593-3064  [please do not leave inspection requests on voicemail.]

TECHNICAL ASSISTANTS :

         Haleigh  Hazen, Office Assistant    hhazen@rosenet.org

Lisa Quinn,  Certified Technical Assistant    quinnl@rosenet.org

Amy Greeley, Certified Technical Assistant   greeleya@rosenet.org

SUBCODE OFFICIALS :

Russell Brown –  Construction Official    brownr@rosenet.org

Mickey Quinn - Building Subcode Official / Fire subcode Official   quinnm@rosenet.org

Al Fisch – Plumbing Subcode Official    fischa@rosenet.org

Robert Smith -  Electrical Subcode Official    smithr@rosenet.org

James Pisauro, Fire Inspector jpisauro@rosenet.org